2023 - Johanna A. Joyce

Department of Oncology, University of Lausanne and Lausanne University Hospital, Switzerland

For her research on tumour microenvironment and the critical influence of non-cancerous immune and stromal cells on tumour progression, metastasis, and therapeutic response.

* 22/11/2023, 16.30: Prof Joyce Lecture at University of Trento, CIBIO
Title: Exploring and Therapeutically Exploiting the Tumor Microenvironment

About the 2023 Winner

Dr. Johanna Joyce is a Professor in the Department of Oncology, University of Lausanne and Lausanne University Hospital, and Full Member of the international Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research She previously served as the inaugural Executive Director of the multi-institutional AGORA Cancer Centre for translational research in Lausanne until 2021.

Johanna’s research expertise is in cancer biology, immunology, and the tumour microenvironment. The Joyce lab investigates the microenvironment in which cancer arises and the critical influence that non-cancerous immune and stromal cells can have on tumour progression, metastasis, and therapeutic response. A major focus of her lab’s recent research has been to deeply and comprehensively interrogate the immune landscape of brain tumours, and use this knowledge to develop novel strategies to therapeutically target the tumour microenvironment.

Johanna’s contributions to cancer research have been recognised through a series of awards including the Fidler Innovation Award from the Metastasis Research Society, Robert Bing Prize, Cloetta Prize, Swiss Bridge Award, American Cancer Society Scholar Award, Rita Allen Foundation Award, V Foundation Award, Sidney Kimmel Foundation Award, among many others. She was elected as an EMBO Member, a Fellow of the European Academy of Cancer Sciences, Chair of the AACR Tumor Microenvironment Working Group (2016- 2017), and to the AACR Women in Cancer Research Council (2020- 2023).

Johanna currently serves on the advisory boards of the CRUK Cambridge Institute and Cancer Center, University of Cambridge, UK; the IRB Institute, Barcelona, Spain; the Robert Bosch Center for Tumor Diseases, Stuttgart, Germany; and the IRB Bellinzona Institute, Switzerland; and on the editorial boards of Science, Cancer Cell, Cancer Discovery, The Journal of Experimental Medicine, and Trends in Cancer.
Prof. Johanna A. Joyce, winner of the 2023 Pezcoller - Marina Larcher Fogazzaro - EACR Women in Cancer Research Award

Johanna is a committed mentor and advisor to many young researchers and a widely recognised advocate - in particular for women in cancer research.
unchecked checked